Thursday, January 19, 2012


NAIROBI, January 17, 2012 (CISA) -The Catholic Bishops of Kenya have officially launched the use of the new English translation of the Roman Missal Third Typical Edition.
The launching ceremony held on Sunday, January 15 at Holy Family Minor Basilica in Nairobi was presided over by Bishop James Wainaina, Chair of the Bishops’ Commission for Liturgy and Bishop of Murang’a Diocese.
In his homily, Bishop Wainaina commended the Liturgical Commission for its commitment towards the institution of the new English translation of the Roman Missal.
The bishop said the Roman Missal is one of the most used texts in the Catholic Church, probably second to the Bible.
While describing the new English translation of the Roman Missal as a hard work of many years by a group of committed Catholics, the bishop also added, “It is the book that is placed on the altar and used by the main celebrant during Mass.”
“The whole work has taken about ten years and the full use of it will come to fruition in six months from today,” Bishop Wainaina revealed.
The cleric explained that the two very important functions of a Missal are to provide texts for the Mass, such as prayers, prefaces, antiphones and to provide guidance on Mass celebration through the guidelines usually called rubrics.
He further said that the liturgical texts are organized into seasons, Feast of Saints and Ritual Masses (like Masses for sacraments).
Bishop Anthony Muheria Vice-Chair of the Bishops’ Commission for Liturgy and Bishop of Kitui Diocese urged Catholics to make every effort to be closer to God in all aspects.
“This is the way we shall be able to benefit from God’s blessings,” Bishop Muheria said. He said that the new Missal is aimed at assisting the faithful become better Christians and followers of God’s teaching.
The new Roman Missal is the work of the Kenya Episcopal Conference (KEC) through its Commission for Liturgy, and the Daughters of St Paul (Paulines) as publishers.
It will be in use in the following countries in Africa: Botswana, Ghana, Kenya, Lesotho, Nigeria, South Africa, Swaziland, Uganda and Zimbabwe.

No comments: