Thursday, October 22, 2020

Novena Prayer for the US Elections Issued by US Catholic Bishops to Pray for the Nation - FULL TEXT



2020 Election Novena 
 Bearing in mind our nation’s challenges and the need for wise, moral, civic leadership, the USCCB is offering an electronic Election Novena to help Catholics form their consciences as they prepare for the upcoming election.
SEE ALSO : Guide for Formation of Conscience Issued by US Bishops:

 For nine consecutive days, Monday, October 26 through Tuesday, November 3, participants will be encouraged to pray one
 Our Father, Hail Mary, and Glory Be for the day’s intention. 
A closing prayer for elected leaders will be offered on day 10, Wednesday, November 4. 
Day One: Monday, October 26 As we prepare for the national & local elections, in the midst of a global pandemic, may our political engagement be guided by our Catholic faith. 
Day Two: Tuesday, October 27 In this month of the Holy Rosary, may Our Blessed Mother guide us in confronting racial inequalities and restoring peace in our communities. 
Day Three: Wednesday, October 28 May all Americans recall the necessity of dialogue, civility, and humility in this election season. 
Day Four: Thursday, October 29 May all people understand the moral and ethical dimensions of political decisions and decide accordingly. 
Day Five: Friday, October 30 May voters & elected leaders uphold the dignity of every human life in their political engagement. 
Day Six: Saturday, October 31 May Catholics recall all aspects of Catholic social teaching as they consider their votes. Day Seven: Sunday, November 1 May there be a transformation of politics to focus on the dignity of the human person and the common good. 
Day Eight: Monday, November 2 May we keep in mind the gift of religious freedom and our duty to defend and exercise it as faithful citizens. 
Day Nine: Tuesday, November 3 Today, as we approach the polls, may we understand & embrace the principles of our faith that guide our political engagement. Closing: Wednesday, November 4 May the leaders elected this week be guided by the Holy Spirit as they fulfill their positions.
SOURCE USCCB

No comments: